Chicago Bean at Night

I Love Chicago

I really do. I love Chicago. It is hands-down, my favorite city in the states. Perhaps it would be unfair to declare it the “best” city, because admittedly a big part of my affinity for Chicago is my familiarity with it, but I think it comes pretty darn close to “best” no matter who is giving the review.

 

Chicago has the same “big-city” feel and energy as New York, and yet there is something infinitely more charming about Chicago. It’s manageable, friendly and beautifully maintained (just check out the miles of tulips that line Michigan Avenue every spring). Public transportation makes the city easy to navigate, and with the CTA Train Tracker website, you will know when the next train is arriving to the minute.

 

Chicago is a mecca for food lovers, music lovers and art lovers alike. It was also ranked 3rd for the Best Architecture of any U.S. City by travelandleisure.com. The city was constructed by famed architects including Frank Lloyd Wright, Louis Sullivan, Mies van der Rohe, and Holabird & Root. The Architecture Tour down the Chicago River is considered the best architecture in the U.S. If a riverboat cruise isn’t your style, you could also take a bus, bike, kayak or Segway, but No matter how you choose to take in the skyline, you will appreciate it infinitely more after taking some type of architectural tour. Check out a variety of Chicago tours to find the one that best suits you.

Chicago Skyline from North Avenue Beach
Chicago Skyline from North Avenue Beach
Chicago Skyline from Navy Pier
Chicago Skyline from Navy Pier

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I love this skyline from every angle, but one of my favorites is right from the balcony. Kevin’s apartment is on the 56 floor of Marina City (often described as the Corn Cob buildings- for obvious reasons, as seen below). If you look straight down from his balcony you can see the river winding right under us. You will also see the outdoor patio (in the summer) for Smith and Wollensky’s. If you look off to the right a little, you see the roof top of the House of Blues, which is situated directly between the two towers. Over the river to the left you will see the Chicago Theater Marquee, to the right is The Sears Tower and straight ahead is pretty much every landmark building in the skyline. On a clear day you can see all the way to Lake Michigan.

Marina City
Marina City
View from Kevin's Balcony in Marina City
View from Kevin's Balcony in Marina City
Night View of Chicago from Marina City
Night View of Chicago from our Rooftop at Marina City
Signature Room View
View from the Signature Room (much better in person)

 

On my first trip to Chicago we went to the 96th floor of the John Hancock building, which is called the Signature Room. It is famous for having the “best view in the city.” If you ever have the chance to make it up there for dinner, or even just a drink, the views really are unbeatable (even from the women’s bathroom!)  For more information or to make a reservation, check out the Signature Room website.

 

 

I have spent a little over a month in Chicago over the past 7 months, and twice I’ve been lucky enough to be joined by two of my best friends. Both times I had a check list of things they must see! Aimee could only stay for a day so we were limited in our sightseeing, but I got three full days with Jenna- and you better believe I filled them up! In typical Mindy fashion, I used my list as a guide and crossed things off as we saw them.

 

With out further ado, here is my list of things you MUST SEE on a  visit to Chicago:

Things to Do In Chicago, Chicago Checklist

Buckingham Fountain with Jenna
Buckingham Fountain with Jenna
Chicago Bean with Aimee
The Bean with Aimee
The Art Institute of Chicago
I would LOVE to take classes here someday
Millenium Park Concert Venue
Jenna and I spent an evening watching a concert in Millenium Park
Chicago Bean at Night
I love this bean. Day time, night time, really any time. I require multiple visits whenever someone comes to visit.

I have to include a small snippet about Chicago’s St. Patrick’s Day Celebration. I have never much been one to celebrate St. Patrick’s Day. I am not Irish, and I do not particularly love the color green. However after spending this last St. Patricks Day weekend in Chicago, I have decided that everyone, despite your personal feelings on the “holiday,” should experience at least one St. Patty’s Day  Chi-Rish style. I mean, seriously… they dye their river green. How could you not want to see that at least once!?

Chicago River, St. Patrick's Day
Watching them dye the river from the balcony. It almost doesn't look real.

Last but not least… I made this video to document the weekend Jenna and I spent in the city. Kevin was out of town so it was lots of good girl time. Long over due and perfectly unforgettable. This song was on a “mixed tape” (ya we are old!) that we used to listen to together in high school. Since the song sort of celebrates going anywhere together, I thought it was especially fitting. Thanks, Greenday. Now that’s not a line I thought I would ever be using.

Mindy and Jenna’s AMAZING Chicago Video!!!!   or    Mindy and Jenna Chicago <– Click the pic!

One thought on “I Love Chicago”

Leave a comment